Facing my Jitters about Momonday Speaking in London Ontario

 It’s four days before my presentation to an expected crowd of 400 at the Carousel Room in London Ontario.

Facing my jitters began weeks ago waking up early every morning to go over my message, reworking phrases in my head before even getting out of bed.

Public speaking has become,with coaching from my teachers throughout elementary and high school and many years invested in Toastmaster training, what I do best. I compete in contests and coach other people of all ages to communicate  more effectively  on and off stage.

 By asking to speak at Momonday I chose to move beyond my comfort zone.

Friends are giving up a night to come out and hear me share a ten minute speech about a pivotal, very personal part of my life. Other speakers have invited their friends. This isn’t about selling or promoting.

 Editing to  ten minutes has been a huge challenge.

Thanks to enthusiastic activator Paula Morand who has sent out tips to all the speakers and has called a few times to confirm people attending and to reassure me as a speaker.

Thanks also to a fellow Unity member who last night shared how she overcame nervousness by remembering that every time she spoke it needed to be “in service of others.”

Though I want to be excellent , to shine with the other five speakers , my main goal is to share my own story in a  way that will inspire others to feel braver and more positive- in my friend’s. words “to be of service”.  Will  let you know how this goes on Tuesday.

One thought on “Facing my Jitters about Momonday Speaking in London Ontario

Leave a Reply

