Caring for the “Child Within”

One of the most poignant lessons I’ve ever received came during a six week grief therapy course for educators two years after the sudden death of my mother.

adult-child1It was my first encounter with a form of Transactional Analysis. Our counsellor reminded us of our capacity to care for “the child that is within each of us”. The adult who may have felt abandoned or mistreated as a youngster can learn to take care of the child who is still within years later.

Moving from ‘helpless’ to ‘helpful’ is tough work. For me, who had allowed myself to be overprotected well into my thirties, it was frightening but also comforting to recognize that as an adult the compassion I showed for others could also be directed towards my child within.

It meant no longer having to wait for others to take care of me. Independence was and is exhilarating.

How do you care for your child within?

Leave a Reply

